Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Three Students Awarded Goldwater Scholarships

Three students at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, have been named 2021–22 Goldwater Scholars, giving UT a shared first place in the SEC for the prestigious award.

Congress established the Goldwater Scholarship Program in 1986 to honor US Senator Barry M. Goldwater. The most prestigious undergraduate STEM scholarships in the United States, Goldwater Scholarships are awarded to college sophomores and juniors who intend to pursue research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics, and engineering. The scholarships provide up to $7,500 annually to cover tuition, fees, books, and room and board.

Since 2010, 24 UT students have been named Goldwater Scholars. This year’s recipients are Keri Burge, Elijah Hix, and Owen Queen, all juniors. To learn more about our student scholars and their accomplishments, click here.