Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Strengths-Mindset Consultants & Advisory Council

The UT Strengths-Mindset Consultants & Advisory Council are charged with:

  • Advising the comprehensive strategic pathways to support student curricular, co-curricular, and academic and social engagement.  
  • Providing recommendations on tactical best practices UT could adopt to move the university’s work forward. 

Consultants and members of the council have the opportunity to investigate positive psychology and the strengths-based approach, discuss best practices, and make recommendations to move the university’s work forward.

  • Amber Williams, Vice Provost for Student Success & Chair
  • Patrick Biddix, Professor & Associate Director of the Postsecondary Education Research Center (PERC) in the Department of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies
  • Mary Jane Moran, Professor and Department Head for Child and Family Studies
  • Betty Sue Sparks, Assistant Professor of Practice and Co-Director of Center for Educational Leadership
  • Michael (Lane) Morris, Associate Dean, Haslam College of Business
  • Missy Parker, Director of Advising Services, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Diane Kelly, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
  • Joe Scogin, Associate Provost and Senior Associate Athletics Director for UT Athletics
  • Janelle Coleman, Executive Director for Diversity and Engagement

External Consultants:

  • Patrick Akos, Professor, School of Education, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Tim Hodges, Executive Director of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s CliftonStrengths Institute and Senior Consultant to GALLUP®


Advisory Council Members:
  • Jerry Adams, Associate Director, University Housing
  • Gladys Alexandre, Department Head, Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • Mandie Beeler, Director, Jones Center for Leadership and Service
  • Jeannine Berge, Director, Professional Career Development
  • Patrick Biddix, Professor & Associate Director of the Postsecondary Education Research Center (PERC) in the Department of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies
  • Karen Boyd, Associate Professor of Practice, Educational Leadership and Policy
  • Amy Broemmel, Associate Professor, Theory and Practice in Teacher Education
  • Lamar Bryant, Associate Dean, Dean of Students
  • Alison Buchan, Associate Professor, Microbiology
  • Melissa Cardon, Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
  • Leonard Clemons, Associate Vice Provost, Division of Student Success
  • Jeff Cochran, Department Head, Ed Psychology and Counseling
  • Janelle Coleman, Executive Director, Office of Diversity and Engagement
  • Chuck Collins, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Daniela Corbetta, Professor, Psychology
  • Sharon Couch, Coordinator, Herbert College of Agriculture
  • Erin Darby, Associate Professor, Religious Studies
  • Marleen Kay Davis, Professor, Architecture
  • Lauri Dusselier, Director, Center for Health, Education and Wellness
  • Lars Dzikus, Associate Professor, Kinesiology, Recreation and Sport Studies
  • Beth Foster, Department Head, Advertising and Public Relations
  • Melissa Grant, BUAD 200 Coordinator and Direction of Business Communications Studio, Professional Career Development
  • Jalen Humphreys, First-Year Student & Haslam Scholar
  • Sally Hunter, Associate Clinical Professor, Child & Family Studies
  • Sarah Hunter, Associate Director, Honors & Scholars Program
  • Sadie Hutson, Executive Associate Dean of Academic Affairs & Professor, College of Nursing
  • Diane Kelly, Vice Provost, Academic Affairs
  • John Keith, Director, Sorority and Fraternity Life
  • Ozlem Kilic, Associate Dean, Tickle College of Engineering
  • Stephanie Kit, Executive Director, Center for Career Development & Academic Exploration
  • Kelsey Kyne, Administrative Director, Division of Student Success
  • Debbie Mackey, Distinguished Lecturer, Management and Entrepreneurship
  • Jill Maloespzy, ADA Coordinator, Office of Equity and Diversity
  • Mary Jane Moran, Professor, Child & Family Studies
  • Lane Morris, Associate Dean and Professor, Haslam College of Business
  • Christine Nattrass, Associate Professor, Physics
  • Spencer Olmstead, Associate Professor, Child & Family Studies
  • Missy Parker, Director, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Kiana Patterson, First-Year Student
  • Jeff Reinbolt, Associate Professor, Mechanical, Aerospace & Biomedical Engineering
  • Doug Renalds, Director, Academic Success Center
  • Jeff Ringer, Associate Professor and Director of English Composition, English
  • Jennifer Rittenhouse, Lecturer, Management and Entrepreneurship
  • CortneyJo Sandidge, Associate Vice Provost, Division of Student Success
  • Joe Scogin, Associate Provost and Senior Associate Athletic Director, UT Athletics
  • Betty Sue Sparks, Assistant Professor of Practice, Center for Educational Leadership
  • Jana Spitzer, Director, EHHS Advising
  • Virginia Stormer, Assistant Director, Teaching & Learning Innovation
  • Laura Trainer, BUAD 100 Coordinator, Undergraduate Programs
  • Teresa Walker, Associate Dean, University Libraries
  • Jessica Wildfire, Executive Director, Thornton Center
  • Amber Williams, Vice Provost, Division of Student Success

Positive Psychology & UT’s Undergraduate Experience

TLI’s Course Redesign Institute

TLI’s Certificate Curriculum

Challenging the Deficit Mindset Handout