Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Student Success Leadership & Staff

 

Name Title
Amber Williams Vice Provost for Student Success

Michael Smith-Porter

Chief of Staff

Laverne Harris 

Chief Financial & Operating Officer

Richard Lee

Director of Strategic Communications

Ali Smith

Director for Special Events

Stephanie Lahnum

Director of Internal and Executive Communication

Jenny Flatford

Administrative Coordinator to the Vice Provost

Student Success Faculty Advisory Council

The Student Success Faculty Advisory Council is an integral part of the Division of Student Success and its commitment to enhancing the overall educational experience and future prospects of its students

Chair: Amber Williams, Vice Provost for Student Success
Initiative Representative: Krystyne Savarese, Assistant Vice Provost for Student Success

Faculty:

  • Scott Barnicle, Associate Professor of Practice of Sport Psychology, College of Education, Health & Human Sciences
  • Lynn Beeler, Clinical Assistant Professor, College of Nursing
  • Alex Bentley, Professor of Anthropology , College of Arts & Sciences
  • Eric Boder, Associate Professor, Associate Head, Director of Undergraduate Studies, Tickle College of Engineering
  • Gerard Cohen-Vrignaud, Associate Professor of English, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Mary Cooper, Assistant Director of Undergraduate Programs, Haslam College of Business
  • David Golden, Professor & Faculty Fellow, Herbert College of Agriculture
  • Guy Harrison, Associate Professor of Journalism, College of Communication & Information
  • Bayyinah Jeffries, Associate Professor & Associate Head of Sociology and Africana Studies, College of Arts & Sciences, Faculty Senate
  • William Lyons, Professor Emeritus and Interim Associate Director of the Institute of American Civics
  • Robert Mindrup, Clinical Associate Professor & Director, College of Social Work
  • Heather Sedges, Affiliated Associate Professor of Child & Family Studies, College of Education, Health & Human Sciences, Faculty Senate
  • Renée Tatum, Assistant Professor, College of Music
  • Scott Wall, Professor, College of Architecture + Design
  • Caroline Wienhold, Senior Lecturer of Biology, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Sarah Johnson, Student Success Librarian for Professional Literacies and Assistant Professor

 

Name Title Phone Email
Dr. Krystyne Savarese Associate Vice Provost for Student Success 865-974-8578 ksavares@utk.edu
Dr. Sally B. Hunter Faculty Director 865-974-5089 sbhunter@utk.edu
Dr. Patrick Biddix Director of Research & Assessment 865-974-6157 pbiddix@utk.edu
Doug Porter Associate Director for Strategic Initiatives   dporter@utk.edu
Dr. Cheri Green Assistant Director for Strategic Initiatives   cgreen16@utk.edu
Brooke Squires  Manager for Training and Development   bsquires@utk.edu
Sam Kilgore Data Analyst   samkilgore@utk.edu

Meet the Strategic Initiatives Team 

 

Name Title Phone Email
CortneyJo Sandidge Associate Vice Provost for Student Success 865-974-9637 csandid1@utk.edu
CortneyJo Sandidge Interim Director, UT Success Academy 865-974-9637 csandid1@utk.edu
Adam White Director, First-Year Experience 865-974-3523 awhit140@utk.edu
Jayetta M. Rogers Director, Veterans Success Center 865-974-5420 jrogers4@utk.edu

 

 

Name Title Phone Email
Dr. Melissa Irvin Associate Vice Provost for Student Success   mirvin@utk.edu
Stephanie Kit Executive Director, Center for Career Development & Academic Exploration 865-974-5435 smkit@utk.edu
Doug Renalds Director, Academic Success Center 865-974-6641 drenalds@utk.edu
Jeremy Mobley Program Director, Academic Advising Initiatives 865-974-1736 jmobley7@utk.edu

 

Name Title Phone Email
Dr. Patrick Akos Associate Vice Provost for Student Success and Executive Director of University Honors Programs   pakos@utk.edu
Dr. Francis Canedo Director, University Honors Programs   fcanedo@utk.edu
Dr. Sharon Jean-Phillipe Faculty Director, Undergraduate Research & Fellowships   jeanphil@utk.edu
Dr. Meredith Malburne-Wade Director, Undergraduate Research & Fellowships   mmalburn@utk.edu

 

Division of Student Success Organizational Chart